Since 1854 – the Saint Paul Police Department has served and protected our city. The Saint Paul Police Foundation invites you to join in celebrating and supporting their work at the Blue Nite Gala.

The Gala, the Foundation’s biggest fundraiser of the year, will be held at the Intercontinental Riverfront Hotel in Saint Paul and will feature a VIP reception from 5-6 pm, a cocktail reception, silent auction and games from 6-7:30pm, dinner and program including a giving moment and the presentation of the Rowan Awards from 730- 9pm. Music and dessert bar to follow until 10pm.

Celebrating Saint Paul’s legacy of strong public safety, leadership and community partnerships

History of Rowan Awards–Richard H. Rowan

Richard H. Rowan was Chief of the Saint Paul Police Department from 1970 to 1979, Chief Rowandedicating a total of 32 years of service to the Department.  He began his career as a patrolman in 1949 and rose up through the ranks as detective, deputy chief and then chief.  His tenure as Chief was marked by turbulent times in the city, during which Chief Rowan demonstrated strong and steady leadership. He has been praised as a man of integrity who displayed courage and innovation throughout his career.

In 1975, Chief Rowan established the first medal of honors program within the department.  And in honor of his memory, the Rowan Award is presented annually at the Annual Saint Paul Police Foundation Gala to a Saint Paul police officer who best exemplifies the characteristics that reflect Chief Rowan’s service.  The honor is awarded to an officer who, with integrity, courage and innovation, displays the finest example of police work throughout their career.

John Rowan, Chief Rowan’s son, reflected on what the award means to the Rowan Family, “The Rowan Award has really helped to keep everyone in the family connected with their father, grandfather, and uncle. This [award] has connected our family with his legacy, what he means to Saint Paul. It has kept [the family] connected to Saint Paul, even while living in a different state. Our family feels so proud when seeing the presentation of the Rowan award. My sons were young when the award was first presented in 2006 at the Gala, and now they wouldn’t want to miss the award presentation.”

The Rowan Award Nominees reflect the characteristics of Chief Rowan: integrity, courage, and innovation.

Rowan Award Winners
2016–No award–Chief’s Reception
2015– Jon Sherwood
2014 –Timothy Moore
2013 – Timothy McCarty
2012 – Michael Dollerschell
2011- Michael Reuvers
2010 –Kevin Moore
2009 – Randy Barnett
2008 – Gregory Pye
2007 – Frank Verdeja
2006 – Thomas Dunaski

We invite you to join us for the 2017 Blue Nite Gala celebration! To learn more about buying tickets, please visit